Pasta for Italians only!


Happy Monday great foodie friends!

It has been far too long since my last blog post!

This dish is a classic and tasty flavor pow for all who like a little kick of spice.

This dish is one that I have loved for years from a favorite restaurant of mine. Quattro’s or Gusto Di Quattro now.

The dish is known as Spaghetti for Italians only. I used fresh linguine but either Will work.

What you need:

1/2 cup of good olive oil

1 lb Ground Chicken (I like dark meat- so much more flavor!)

2 minced garlic cloves

2 tsp of chili peppers

Salt to taste

4 oz Black beans or black turtle beans

1 tsp of Italian parsley funky chopped

1 cup of tomato sauce – ours was chicken based.

Parmigiano cheese to serve with

What you will do:

Heat up the oil on medium high heat & then add the chicken and start to brown.

At the same time heat up your pasta water and make sure to salt the water! The fresh pasta cools quickly, approx 6-8 mins.

Add in the salt, garlic, parsley and chili flakes and stir to incorporate

Then add in the tomato sauce & stir. Cook for another 5 mins on medium low to blend all the flavors.

Now top with your fresh grated parmigiano cheese (to love cheese is to love life for me!)

This pasta is also great to make your own- you can adjust your spice level or garlic to your liking.

You gotta try this!

About Westcoast Foodie Blogger

Husband, father, coach, volunteer, foodie, amateur chef....love of food from the soul, true flavors that come from heart and soul, Love all things Italian, love to travel to new places as well a familiar spots....dare to dream, experiment and expand your palate and embrace how food from the soul connects friends, family and new aquaintences. share ideas and wanderlust travel experiences with my blog...let me know if there is something that you want me to blog on or write about....Enjoy every moment of everyday. Follow me on Twitter @BCfoodieblogger and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/BC-Foodie-Blogger-Westcoast-Foodie-Blogger

Posted on June 25, 2018, in Experimenting recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This version of the iconic Spaghetti Quattro is simply wrong. Looks a but mushy.

    Needs a firm spaghetti and not a flat or egg noodle as those are too soft. Spaghetti should be al dente.

    Next, no to dark meat. It does change the flavour and as much as one might like dark chicken meat as more flavorful in general, this recipe is about the chilli oil and garlic. The dark meat becomes too prominent. I have seen some suggest turkey as a substitute but that too changes the flavour too much.

    I don’t see any parsley in the picture but needs some colour but also a touch of freshness to balance the beans and garlic.

    Too many beans as well. They add fibre and texture but can easily to be too many. Should just me a small half handful for the entire multi-serving recipe.

    And lastly, there is no Parm in the recipe. You might like cheese but it doesn’t go with everything. You should not serve it with subtle dishes like seafood but will take the sting out of the chilli oil in this dish. Kinda like having a decaf espresso, that’s a ‘what’s the point’.

    Clearly anyone can take any sacrilegious corners they choose but don’t tout this as the recipe that made this dish famous. It was a fan favourite before it was even named spaghetti quattro. Originally, it was in the Corsi family restaurant before they opened Quattro on Fourth as Pasta Trastavernini.

    Like

    • Hi there I understand your comments and the pasta was freshly made and was al dente but you are correct not spaghetti, it’s what I made before I decided on the sugo. There was parsley but mixed in at the end and the cheese is personal preference and also what I did at corsi & quattros. The beans again were personal so I’ll give you the rights to your comments but may I see my personal changes offend you and that’s fine. I made it my own but can assure you it tasted as it should. Cheers

      Like

Leave a comment