Sidecut Modern Steak & Bar- Whistler BC 


Hi great foodie friends. It’s been sometime since my last blog as life can hop in the way sometimes.

Where did I eat?

Sidecut Modern Steak & Bar

Atmosphere: Westcoast warmth and a balance of contemporary and traditional west coast. 

We happened to go to Sidecut located in Whistler at the Four seasons in September. Knowing we were in for a big meal we kept the appies to a minimum and they ended up not really being the star attraction. 

What I can say is that they are known for their steaks and coupled with a la cart sides that’s is where the star factor showed up! 


I had the WAGYU GOLD LABEL FLAT IRON 8OZ. $44 and it was cooked to perfection! True to its form the Wagyu was ripple marbled which kept it moist and very flavorful. 

Sidecut offers you 1 of 5 choices of seasoning, I chose the Black Angus.

  

I added the CORN AND JALAPEÑO GRATIN $9. This side dish was out of this world good. 

We enjoyed our steaks with a nice bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon and the warm fresh bread with Maple butter. 

To finish we shared a few sweet treats. 

I was very happy to see the… 

EVERYONE LOVES LEMON TART 12
meyer lemon, torched meringue
$12 – 


I was impressed with the presentation but honestly that is where the smile ended. If you are going to have a name like Everyone Loves the Lemon Tart  – I think you have set the bar of expectations high. I honestly found it to fall flat, it wasn’t what I expected and wasn’t something that you wanted to keep diving into! Normally I love anything lemon or lime and protect my lemon dessert with my life! 

All in all a nice time with family, a great steak and sides but a sweet ending that wasn’t satisfying. 

All of my opinions are my own and reflect my personal opinions and tastes. 

Would I go back? Yes, the steaks and accompaniments were that good. The prices are a little steep but the quality of ingredients shine through. 

You Gotta Try This! 

About Westcoast Foodie Blogger

Husband, father, coach, volunteer, foodie, amateur chef....love of food from the soul, true flavors that come from heart and soul, Love all things Italian, love to travel to new places as well a familiar spots....dare to dream, experiment and expand your palate and embrace how food from the soul connects friends, family and new aquaintences. share ideas and wanderlust travel experiences with my blog...let me know if there is something that you want me to blog on or write about....Enjoy every moment of everyday. Follow me on Twitter @BCfoodieblogger and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/BC-Foodie-Blogger-Westcoast-Foodie-Blogger

Posted on October 5, 2016, in Food reviews, gems outside Vancouver, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

